top of page
  • darrenscivilwarpag8

Happy Saturday: A Man Not Forgotten



For those curious about the original photo of my “Happy Saturday” posts, it is a picture of my favorite coffee from my time spent at the Petersburg National Battlefield, along with a series of books I am working through by Kenneth P. Williams. Dr. Williams was a math professor at the University of Indiana at Bloomington between 1914 and his death in 1957.


He served as a Lieutenant during the Pancho Villa Expedition around the Mexican border. He also commanded the precursor to the Reserve Officer Training Corps in 1919.


It is a lifelong goal of mine to complete his series of works on Lincoln Finds a General because he died of cancer writing the fifth volume. The work is excellent, explaining the shortcomings of the various commanders of the Army of Potomac between 1861 and 1863. Books three through five began giving a detailed account of Grant’s career out west.


He relied heavily on orders from the

Official Records of the Civil War. He could have taught in the history department at IU as well.


LINCOLN FINDS A GENERAL....


This week, I received good news from the archives at IU that they retained his writings and research on Lincoln Finds a General and are accessible to the public.

I plan on taking a look at his notes

soon. Nonetheless, I continue working on my other Grant book and editing my dissertation for publication.


This weekend, I plan on conversing with Darren Rawlings and Tim Willging about our “Passion for History.” We will discuss all historical events except the American Civil War.


Liberty University remains undefeated in its football season and is ranked #25 in the AP Poll. They need a good win against Old Dominion to retain their rank and undefeated season. My Chiefs won a close one in Germany this past weekend. It was only close because Taylor Swift was absent from the game. Their next game will be against the Eagles, so we will see how they do.


Question of the Week: What is one of your favorite books on

World War I?




Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page