top of page
  • darrenscivilwarpag8

Moral Courage Happy Saturday!


During this cold week, I learned that the Chiefs will play the Miami Dolphins in the playoffs. I am nervous that, based on their performance, they will be "one and done." However, I have many friends supporting the Buffalo Bills, so I also wish them the best in the playoffs. I am also cheering for the Detroit Lions, as I know they have suffered over the years waiting for a Super Bowl appearance. Nevertheless, it will be interesting to see how the playoffs unfold.



As Tim and I plugged away at our book, I found one exciting event between U.S. Grant's actions and words. We are critical of Grant's words against the Mexican-American War in that he believed the war was unjust. Yet, he still took an active role in conquering the West. Democrats believed in expanding American borders through conquest, while Whigs believed that Republican Idealism should be spread across its borders through negotiation. Grant was able to write in his memoirs that the war was unjust to Julia, but he never left. Historians must criticize Grant's analysis if he was still an active participant. However, he does concede that he did not have the moral courage to leave. I believe everyone struggles to uphold this trait as we complain about various aspects of our jobs that we see as unjust, but we refuse to do anything about it simply because we lack that "moral courage.". In his old age, Grant knew his wrongs and did not hold back when analyzing the mistakes of his younger self. Yet, if Grant had left, would Grant have been able to attain a position in the Union Army years later? It is difficult to suggest that he would have found his way back to general-in-chief of all armies, but this twenty-twenty hindsight does not keep Grant from admitting his mistakes in his old age.



Finally, a quick note about my dissertation. I am adding to the events of June 4-7 from the Confederate perspective. There was a lot of confusion and disappointment as to why the high command did not press on. Other Confederate primary sources reveal the answer to this question of the terrain being impassable. Nevertheless, I am preparing to submit it to KSU Press.



Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page