top of page
  • darrenscivilwarpag8

The story behind Podcasting History and my interest in the American Civil War. By Darren Rawlings

Updated: Nov 2, 2023




History is something that I have always been interested in. I was brought up in the market town of Ashford in Kent, which can trace its history right back to 1086 when it was first recorded in the famous Doomsday Book. The Doomsday book was a census of the time and a record of much of England and parts of Wales and was commissioned by William the Conqueror. Ashford recorded in the Domesday Book as a (manor with 2 villagers, 15 smallholders, 3 slaves and 1 priest) In the 1800s, life in Ashford changed forever when, in 1842, the railway station opened, and then in 1847, Ashford became an important railway works.


The first historical site I remember visiting as a kid was the Smugglers caves in Hastings. But history really didn't become important to me until 2003 after joining one of the oldest re-enactment societies in the UK (The Sealed Knot) which was formed in 1968 and Re-enacts the English Civil Wars.


So you maybe thinking how and why does someone who lives in a place where you are Literally tripping over history became interested in something that happened 4000 miles away on another continent (The American Civil War) one simple reason the 1993 movie Gettysburg.



Back in 2004, I was attending an English Civil War Re-enactment, and a friend of mine and fellow Reenactor Tony Whalin gifted me a cardboard box of VHS videos, and inside the box was 5 videos. There was the movies (Cromwell /Waterloo /Zulu and of course Gettysburg ) it was a couple of weeks before I finally got around to watching Gettysburg, as it wasn't top of my list of things to watch. Firstly, I wasn't remotely interested at that point in anything to do with the American Civil War, but one night after getting home from work and with nothing to watch, I thought, why not! the movie starts with real photographs taken from the time period as well as a fantastic piece of music and from that moment on I was just transfixed. A lot of you will know that the movie is 254 minutes long, which is over four hours. Hence, the reason it was split over two videos, let's just say I had a late night that night. But that was it the spark had been lit, and there was no turning back. Not knowing anything about the American Civil War at that point, I was left wondering, well, what happened next? I then discovered that the movie had been adapted from a book called The Killer Angels and in actual fact there was another movie/Book in the genre called God's and Generals, so of course I had to watch that. The movie gets alot of criticism but for all it's flaws I have always really like the movie, it was at that point that I started delving deeper into the real history behind the movies which would eventually lead me on two trips to America in 2006 and 2007 with the main goal of visiting Gettysburg among other Civil War sites. (Fredericksburg, Harper's ferry, New market, The National Civil War Museum in Harrisburg )


Then in 2010 my life changed forever when I met my wife to be Michelle which would eventually lead us to moving in together Marriage and children, it was at that point American Civil War was put on the back burner for 10 years.


Now as I have already mentioned  I was an English Civil War Reenactor but every now and then we would do joint events with a Re-enactment Society called the Southern Skirmish Association which was also formed the same year as the Sealed knot in (1968) and every time, I walked past there camp, I would look over and think one day I'm going to walk in and talk to someone but for some reason that day just didn't happen, then in 2019 we came together for a joint event In the Hampshire countryside at a place known as Cheriton which is very close to  a famous English Civil War Battlefield. (The Battle of Cheriton which took place in 1644 during the first English Civil Wars.) On the Saturday evening, I walked into the beer tent, and standing on the other side was a very good-looking bunch of US Regulars.

The 4th US Infantry Regiment Co.K to be Precise (Hardy hats Brass scales Immaculate Frock coats) I was like a magpie drawn by the Sparkle of the Brass Scales, I got to talking to a private by the Name of Kiran Barwick, during the conversation the Captain of the regiment walked over and joined the conversation. Captain Chris Barwick explained who they were and what they do, it was during this conversation that Chris could tell how enthusiastic and passionate, I was about the American Civil War. He pointed his finger at me and said "Darren, you're doing the wrong thing. Come and see us in the morning" At first I thought, I couldn't possibly do English Civil War Re-enactment and American Civil War, although there are many people who do many different time periods. But with a young family at home doing more than one would not of worked. I got home from that event and its all I could think of and it was at that point, I decided to go to an event with the 4th U.S Infantry. After the first day of that event, I had already signed up for the following season. Remember this is in August 2019 and not knowing what was just around the corner as we entered 2020. So Gettysburg, the movie is what started it all, but it's definitely joining the 4th U.S. Infantry Regiment and the Southern Skirmish Association that relights the fire. The Southern Skirmish Association is also a lot different to the Sealed knot, as the Southern Skirmish Association is mainly living history. I thought to myself if I get asked a question about the civil war than I want to be able to give them an answer. I spent a lot of time in the off-season getting all of my gear together, as well as reading, watching, and learning everything I could about the American Civil War. Then the world comes to a stop in march of 2020, the horrible C word. (No Re-enacting) During late 2020, I spent a lot of time watching American Battlefield Trust videos on YouTube and one evening, I came across a live American Battlefield Trust presentation

and Chris mackowski was one of the participants. Chris is one of the Co-founders of Emerging Civil War.

I put my questions in to the chat and after the presentation had gone off air Chris took his time to answer my questions, and It's at that point when I decided to Contact Chris and asked him if he would like to come and chat with me about the Battle of Fredericksburg on Zoom, which I was only going to share into a private group. At the end of the message I sent him I said

"my mum always said if you don't ask, you don't get to which Chris answered your

Mum is Right I would be glad to come and talk about Fredericksburg with you" At this point I didn't have a clue of what I was doing never having done a anything like this before. After watching the Video of the talk back I thought to myself I have something really good here, it was too good to just share into a private group.


The first episode Fredericksburg

with Chris mackowski


So on December 26, 2020 American Civil War & UK History's Podcast and Facebook page was born. Before we started recording the podcast I told Chris about myself and explained that I just needed to talk to someone about the American Civil War and he said "well Emerging Civil War can definitely help with that!" which then led me on to Sitting down with Historian Caroline Davis to discuss The Battle of Stones River, then Chris introduced me to Sarah Kay Bierle, Chris Kolakowski, and so on.


In the first few months, I also felt the need to do something explaining how and why the English Civil Wars started, so I did an episode with historian and Sealed Knot Legend Martin Russell.


My journey didn't stop there because, then in the Summer of 2021, I met Tyler McGraw (The Unfiltered Historian ) and started Collaborating and live streaming a show which is called Unfiltered Conversations, myself and Tyler became really good friends because of our love for history and its through Tyler, that I met (Tim Willging and Nathan Provost) who have along with Tyler appeared on American Civil War & UK History's Podcast on many occasions. I would also like to mention Paul Michael Jason The Untold Civil War podcast host. Paul gave me some really good advice at the beginning of my journey.


The untold Civil War Podcast.


The best thing that has come out of all of this is some amazing friendships.


We started Re-enacting again in 2021 and I met Historian Mark Wheatcroft who has also contributed to the podcast on many occasions. But by far the biggest inspiration for me is Chris Mackowski and Emerging Civil War who without his/ their

support encouragement and friendship none of this would have been possible. Then, in 2021, I met Gina D'Enham. I was attending the Dedication of her Great Great Grandfather who fought in the Battles of lockout Mountain and Missionary ridge in 1863, we very quickly realised that we had the same passion and drive and so in January 2022 we formed Monuments For UK Veterans of the American Civil War Association.


Pictures credit Craig Semplis.


The aim of the association is to get forgotten brits, who fought in the American Civil War Headstones, as well as the recognition they deserve. Eventually the goal is for a single Monument that will honour all British American civil war veterans.


Most recently I have taken the leap into the Public history field and have started volunteering at Deal Castle. Which is a 16th century Artillery fort which was commissioned by Henry VIII and is located on the South Coast of England.


(And rest as they say is history.)








Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page